



MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER - ÁRAS AN CHONTAE, ON MONDAY, 10TH SEPTEMBER, 2018 AT 9.00AM.

PRESENT: Councillor Ivan Connaughton PRESIDED

MEMBERS: Cllr V. Byrne, Cllr L. Callaghan, Cllr D. Connolly, Cllr M. Creaton, Cllr J. Cummins,

Cllr N. Dineen, Cllr R. Doherty, Cllr L. Fallon, Cllr P. Fitzmaurice, Cllr P. Kilduff, Cllr O. Leyden, Cllr M. Mulligan, Cllr J. Murphy, Cllr J. Naughten, Cllr K. Shanagher

and Cllr T. Ward.

OFFICIALS: Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive

Pat Murtagh, A/Director of Services Patricia Bohan, Meetings Administrator Michelle Carney, Assistant Staff Officer Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive Pat Murtagh, A/Director of Services

Apologies: Cllr J. Keogh.

2.18 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION 2018 - NOMINATION FROM ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL PURSUANT TO SECTION 16 OF THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT 1993

The Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Ivan Connaughton welcomed the Members and media to Roscommon County Council Special Plenary Meeting. The purpose of the Special Meeting is to ratify the decision on a nomination for the Presidential Election from Roscommon County Council pursuant to Section 16 of the Presidential Elections Act 1993.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor John Cummins **SECONDED** by Councillor Laurence Fallon

It was **AGREED** that whichever candidate receives the majority vote will duly receive the Nomination of Roscommon County Council for the Presidential Election 2018 pursuant to Part 16 of the Presidential Act 1993.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Dominic Connolly **SECONDED** by Councillor Joe Murphy

That Senator Joan Freeman be proposed for consideration as the Roscommon County Council nomination.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Tony Ward **SECONDED** by Councillor Paddy Kilduff

That Mr. Sean Gallagher be proposed for consideration as the Roscommon County Council nomination.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice **SECONDED** by Councillor Valerie Byrne

That Ms. Gemma O'Doherty be proposed for consideration as the Roscommon County Council nomination

As there were no further nominations, the Meetings Administrator called for a Vote which resulted as follows:-

VOTING FOR MR. SEAN GALLAGHER:

Councillors Liam Callaghan, Ivan Connaughton, John Cummins, Nigel Dineen, Rachel Doherty, Laurence Fallon, Paddy Kilduff, Orla Leyden, Kathleen Shanagher and Tony Ward (10)

VOTING FOR SENAOTOR JOAN FREEMAN:

Councillors Dominic Connolly, Michael Creaton, Joe Murphy (3)

VOTING FOR MS. GEMMA O'DOHERTY:

Councillor Valerie Byrne, Councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice (2)

ABSTENTIONS:

Councillor Michael Mulligan (1)

ABSENT WHEN THE VOTE WAS CALLED:

Councillor John Naughten (1)

ABSENT:

Cllr. John Keogh (1)

Cathaoirleach Ivan Connaughton hereby declared that Mr. Sean Gallagher had received the nomination of Roscommon County to contest the Presidential Election 2018 pursuant to Section 16 of the Presidential Elections Act 1993.

The Cathaoirleach thanked all of the members for their attendance and contribution to the meeting.

This concluded the business of the Special Meeting.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:



Lar Comagnition Cathaoirleach

Pereirio Belieu Countersigned